From Scalding to Cold and Back Again

Users who are viewing this thread

Daustinhjr

Reaction score
I'm working on a buddies Bosch 940 es. As the title implies the water is going from really hot to cold over and over. This is my first time working on a tankless hot water heater; very limited experience with any water heater. Any advice is greatly appreciated.

This is what I've tried so far:

1. Checked all connections/fuses. *
  2. Checked to make sure vents weren't clogged
  3. Watched the flames while it was running. Looked uniform blue.
  4. Lowered the temp to 122.
  5. Pumped vinegar through it for 1 1/2 hours.
  6. Checked the flow at the tap and it checked out.
  7. Noticed one of the white blocks attached to the copper tubing had some burn marks on it. When I popped it off the copper for a closer look it broke in half like it was already fractured. After looking the part up in the manual I found it's part of the "freeze prevention kit". I ordered a replacement that will be here tomorrow. Is there any chance replacing this is going to fix the problem; or am I just replacing something that broke?

Valveman

Cary Austin
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
cyclestopvalves.com
Is this on a well pump? If so the cycling on and off from 40 to 60 PSI will cause that problem. Holding a constant 50 PSI will keep that from happening.

Daustinhjr

Reaction score
a>

a>

C0zfnAS.jpg

Valveman

Cary Austin
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
cyclestopvalves.com
I don't know if that burned part could make it act like that or not. But you could still have varying pressure coming in from the city, which I know will make those water heaters turn on and off.

Daustinhjr

Reaction score
Hmm. A regular old $10 water pressure gauge wouldn't cut it to check that would it? If not could you recommend something that will work for my purpose and doesn't cost more than the heater itself.

Any other ideas to check?

Valveman

Cary Austin
Staff member
Reaction score
Website