Misaligned toilet flange fiasco

Users who are viewing this thread

Dgamby

Reaction score
Hello All,

I had a delightful day trying to work on an old toilet in the house we just bought that was backing up every which way and creating a slight disaster.

I eventually removed the toilet and found the clog. In doing so It looks like when this toilet was installed they did a crappy (no pun intended) job. The drain pipe is not centered over the toilet flange and it doesn't look like they installed any type of offset flange.

I cleared it, re-insalled the toilet, and it is backing up again. Can someone take a look at these pics and tell me if this looks like it will need a more radical overhaul? I'm not an expert but I feel like it shouldn't look like this!

Attachments

• IMAG1104.jpg
    IMAG1104.jpg
    72.6 KB · Views: 1,090

Reach4

Reaction score
Can someone take a look at these pics and tell me if this looks like it will need a more radical overhaul? I'm not an expert but I feel like it shouldn't look like this!
Yes. You certainly are in dire need a closet flange.

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
That IS an offset flange, and one of the worst ones to use. It creates a "shelf" under the toilet's outlet and can cause clogging. The wax seal was installed so it covers part of the outlet pipe.

Dgamby

Reaction score
Ok so I'm not crazy, it isn't a great system. So a closet flange should solve my problems? I was thinking a better offset flange might be helpful instead of this one that seems a little homemade. Or perhaps it is just time to call in the pros?

DG

Reach4

Reaction score
Go to the basement and see what it looks like under there. No? OK, then crawl into the crawl space. What? It's worse?

It looks like maybe a 2 inch pipe or smaller there. I wonder what the rest of the path looks like.

Reach4

Reaction score