Drain line: going from 1 bathroom sink to 2

Users who are viewing this thread

French_guy

Reaction score
I'm having my bathroom floor being redone (vinyl to tile)
I'm removing the current vinyl, underlayment and single sink vanity myself. Since we will have a new (and nice) floor, we were thinking replacing the single sink vanity by a double one.
How should I plumb the waste line? Is the only option to open the wall, or can I do something "easier"?
I have something like this (not my picture, but very similar)
bathroom.JPG

Can someone point me to pictures/links/information (something easy to understand.....I'm not a professional plumber ;))

Thanks

Last edited:

Cacher_Chick

Test, Don't Guess!
Reaction score
double_lav_rough_1.jpg

To do it correctly, the drain and vent piping in the wall will need to be changed to meet the new sink.
People have a tendency to focus on connecting the drain, but a proper vent connection is just as important.

French_guy

Reaction score
Distance between the 2 sinks (center to center) will be 48”….Is it too long for 1 p-trap only and one arm from 2nd sink to 1st one?

French_guy

Reaction score
double_lav_rough_1.jpg

To do it correctly, the drain and vent piping in the wall will need to be changed to meet the new sink.
People have a tendency to focus on connecting the drain, but a proper vent connection is just as important.
What should be the max distance between each stubout and the vertical vent pipe? The one on the left is longer that the right....
And what if my studs are 2x4 (exterior wall, ~30 years old house)?

Cacher_Chick

Test, Don't Guess!
Reaction score
42" max between the trap and vent for 1.5" trap arms.

We would drill the framing and install stud shoes to reinforce the studs. The insulation goes back in on the outside of the drain piping.

If you want to hack the back of the vanity, the drains can be inside the cabinet, and a pair of 1/8th bends can be used to get the vent back in the wall.

French_guy