Vent advice needed for far away tub

Users who are viewing this thread

StephK

Reaction score
Hi all - first time poster here. My husband and I renno old historic homes in our spare time and i'm the plumber of the family - I consider myself a 'master DIYer'. I've done probably 10-15 baths, but I'm stumped on this one. It's probably a super easy fix, but I've thought about it too much and can't ponder it anymore. So ... Help!

Planning out the DWV for our new master bath. I am NOT an artist, but I hope you can see what you need. There is currently one 2" vent thru the roof (Vent A) and I'm running another up to the attic (Vent B). This could go thru the roof, or just run across attic and connect into A.

My problem is with the whirlpool tub. There will be a 2" trap and it's more than 8 feet to either vent. And, it's on corner exterior walls, both brick/plaster, so can't have its own vertical. There are two options for drain, but both are over 8. Drain option B would be just a few inches over 8' to the vent, by the time I angle the trap ... inspector might let it slide. But, there is so many connections going on at the 3" pipe there, I'd rather connect in to shower drain, Option A.

How do I vent this thing? Do I run a slightly pitched vent alongside the drain under the floor to the main vent B?

Thanks in advance for your expert help!!
Steph

Attachments

• master_bath_plumbing.jpg
    master_bath_plumbing.jpg
    37.7 KB · Views: 961

StephK

Reaction score
No guidance for me? Can anyone help?

I made a new diagram. Just a tiny bit better. Still not 3-D, but maybe clearer.

I also have a new question, also about distance. I am reading code about trap arm (for 2" drain) not being longer than 8'. Both the tub and shower are about 9ish feet to the drain ... Am I understanding that code correctly?

So again, how do I vent this tub?
Thank you!

Attachments

• MasterBathPlumbing.pdf
    149.8 KB · Views: 480
Last edited:

Cacher_Chick

Test, Don't Guess!
Reaction score