Shallow well problems - sorry about double post.

Users who are viewing this thread

ShallowWellNoob

Reaction score
Have had problems for a long time with parents well/pump. It will pump water fine as long as the pump is on & running, they have been using the breaker box to turn it on and off themselves, as it will never reach shut-off.

Today we installed all new lines & fittings, etc.. UNDER the pump (down into the well) and a new pump. Turned it on, water coming out fine just as before - let everything run for a while with all water open to get air out of the lines. Seemed like all air was out and the pump was running at 22lbs. After turning everything off and letting the pump run for about 10 mins, it had dropped to 15lbs. Any idea what is going on? --- was able to take a 30 min shower on full blast and have steady water before replacing, so I dont think its a problem with the water level (although, Im new to all this)

Could it be something above the pump in the system? Any leak would have to be leaking into the basement and I do not see anything dripping...

Oh, and my father was told that the water is fed by an underground river a long time ago I guess - using a 1 HP convertible shallow well pump. Line goes down about 90 ft. --water is normally VERY clean, no dirt/rust/etc....tastes great and is normally very clear.

Reach4

Reaction score
How many pipes go to the well? If only 1 pipe, you can only pump if the water surface is 25 feet or so below the pump. If two lines, somebody will be along to help you further in what to adjust.

If you don't use water and shut off the pump, what happens to the pressure -- how far does it drop how fast?

How big is the casing? If the casing is big enough (3 inches or better), I would put in a submersible next time.

ShallowWellNoob

Reaction score
2 pipes go into the pump/well.
If the water isnt used, then it drops pretty fast - not sure just how long, 15-20 mins maybe??
the casing? - you mean the hole down or what?