2nd plumbing question

Users who are viewing this thread

jpierce55

Reaction score
Reading up on here, I see that the vent on my kitchen sink is not correct. The 2 sinks connect with a tailpiece, p trap, and shoot straight down in the middle of the cabinet. The vent comes off about 6" above the trap, turns at a 90, goes into the wall and turns another 90. Probably 4-6" of horizontal run. I see that as an issue that can be fixed, but is it necessary to cut both 90's off the vent, would it be legal to do a street 90 directly to another 90? I ask that because otherwise i need to cut a hole in the wall to fix the vent. Just trying to get everything correct.

Reach4

Reaction score
If there are no symptoms, I would not worry about it. I am not a pro.

If you are concerned, post a photo.

jpierce55

Reaction score

Attachments

• 20150830_080858.jpg
    20150830_080858.jpg
    59.3 KB · Views: 143

Cacher_Chick

Test, Don't Guess!
Reaction score
I'm guessing that there is an AAV off the top of the riser which is not shown in the photo. The tees that are installed are definitely wrong.
On a scale of hack jobs, I would give it a 5.

Dj2

In the Trades
Reaction score

jpierce55,
1. The Ts are wrong. The T from the drain and the GD has to be an "end T". The T near the wall has to be sani T.
2. We can't tell if there is a vent or not, we can't see inside the wall.
3. The sink drain is not plumbed correctly, creating unnecessary pressure on the slip joints.

The entire drain needs to be cut out and new, correct drain installed.

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
It may work, but as said, it is not right. Whether there's an AAV in there somewhere or not, the vent should go up at least 42" above the floor before it can go horizontal, not counting the other errors.

jpierce55

Reaction score