High Chloride/Sodium/TDS Levels?

Users who are viewing this thread

John24

Reaction score
I recently purchased a house serviced by a well, the previous owner had passed away so I couldn't get much info on the equipment that's in place. I'm new to this so I'm trying to learn as I go. I'll post the results from two separate water tests, any recommendations to correct these issues would be appreciated.

The water had tested positive for coliform and a UV system was installed to correct it.

There is a water softener but it is currently in "bypass". There is also a reverse osmosis system hooked up to the water line that feeds the ice maker on the fridge.

I did notice corrosion on appliances as well as the shut off valves through out the house, granted the plumbing is 90 years old.

Here's the results as well as the recommended limits:
Hardness: 11 --- 0-4.00 gpg
Ph: 6.32 --- 7.0-8.5
Alkalinity: 2.82 --- 14.620 gpg
Chlorides: 33 --- 14.620 gpg
TDS: 1043 --- 500 ppm
Iron: 0.06 --- .300
Turbidity: 0.63 --- ntu
Sulfates: 1.37 --- 14.620 gpg
Iron Algeas : none

and the other test (different units of measurement)

Coliform >1/100 ml --- <1/100 ml
Iron <.03 --- .3
Manganese <.01 --- .05
Lead <.001 --- .005
pH 6.52 --- 6.5 – 8.5
Nitrate 7.7 --- 10
Hardness 239.6 --- 250
Sodium 100.63 --- 50
Arsenic <.001 --- .005

As you can see, the chloride level as well as the TDS levels are very high in the first test and the sodium levels are high in the second. I've read the high chloride levels could be related to the sodium levels and that can also make the TDS number high?

What can I do to correct this in a cost effective manner? Thanks!

Reach4

Reaction score
Your water pH is a bit low (acidic). There is a treatment available for that.

You should get the softener working again. You should post information on what you have if you want help with that.