Laundry tub studs

Users who are viewing this thread

flyingskydiver

Reaction score
I am wanting to put in a laundry sink next to our washer and dryer. I know that I can tap into the PEX cold and hot water lines for the studs, however, the drainage is where I do not know how to tap into on the design due to the venting on the opposite side. I have attached a picture of the current configuration, where the venting is on the right of the drainage, but need the studs to be on the left, as highlighted in red. Any direction and picture of how to achieve this would be great. Thank you.

Attachments

• Wall_studs.jpg
    Wall_studs.jpg
    79.2 KB · Views: 158

WJcandee

Wise One
Reaction score
It wouldn't be pretty, and I don't normally give this kind of advice, since I am not a pro, but I will take a crack at it if nobody else has a more elegant solution (which they likely will). You could connect your sink P-trap into a san-T in a vertical line basically between the Os in the box in your drawing. That drain line would run vertically down, and then run across underneath the trap for your washer standpipe and connect to the vertical drain with a San-T below the place that your washer standpipe connects to it. Then, for your vent, you would run up from your sink P-trap's San-T connection and then across to connect to the existing vent at a point at least 6" above the overflow rims of the fixtures on that floor.

All this assumes that the vertical pipe in your existing layout is a dry vent (i.e. no pipes upstairs are draining into it). And that you have enough room to give the proper slope to the horizontal run across to the drain. And that you can do this without compromising the structural integrity of those vertical wooden studs.