Well questions

Users who are viewing this thread

Mathew

Reaction score
I grew up here in southern california and though moving out of this state is attractive me and my wife. Family is here our roots are here. I've worked around wells in the past and never truely seen one that produced more than 3.5 gallons per minute. But now I'm looking to by a property a well on it. I'm a General contractor so building myown home would be cool when its done. All my highly educated freinds and siblings that moved out of state to buy a home or can't buy a home here becasue there to busy paying off there student loans, and paying there big city studio appartments. I'd like to put a home on this gently sloped (6%) 3/4 acre lot overlooking them all while safley out of the city 25 miles away.
As A condition of Escrow I am aloud to arrange a well test. But of course the well contractor I called wasn't going to be able to make it here by wensday when escrow ends. I witness well test before on horizontal wells but never vertical. So today I did a flow test myself is this right?
So here is what I did:
Connected the well to my 8kw generator and started pumping a 9:10 am this morning. At this point the flow rate was really high. It filled a 5 gallon bucket in about 20 seconds. But the well was sitting for a few months. Obviously had allot of (Static Head?) water built up in the pipe that was static head. It slowly tapered down until 10:23am when when the flow slowed to a even steady rate but it kept pumping that way. I knew the water level has reached the pump. I was expecting the pump controller to shut down the pump and restart after the pipe had refilled. Is it normal to continue pumping like that?