Replacing/repairing hose bib--cant remove stem

Users who are viewing this thread

superkaz

Reaction score
Hi all. Thanks for reading my first post. As a new homeowner, I have a list a mile long, and this is one of them.

Anyway, I have a leaky hose bib, so now that its warm, I figured, ok, time to fix it. Im no plumbing expert (clearly), but I assumed that I'd just remove the packing nut, and remove the stem to get to the washer. Well, I've backed off the packing nut (picture attached), but can't get the stem out. It neither screws out (seems to hit a positive stop) or pull out. Any suggestions?

I'd also be happy (actually prefer) to replace the entire assembly, but Im not sure if its threaded or sweat on, and if its sweat, I cant get to it as there is no access panel in the wall behind. Is there any indication as to which it is by looking at it? Thanks all

Attachments

• hose bib.jpg
    hose bib.jpg
    90.7 KB · Views: 4,342

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
That appears to be a frost-free silcock. If it's leaking, does it do that all of the time, or only when you turn the water on? If it only leaks when you have the water on, you may need to replace the entire valve. Regardless, the actual sealing portion of the valve is 6-10" or so back along a long shaft inside the house so it won't freeze.

superkaz

Reaction score
Have you tried to unscrew the square nut behind the packing nut?
Is it leaking around the stem or out the spout?

Yours might have a longer valve stem than the one in this link but the video should help:
http://www.renovateyourworld.com/Ho...pping_Outdoor_Faucet-Faucets-S2659-video.html

I actually hadn't. I assumed that they were flats to counter-hold the bib as you tightened the packing nut. Maybe I should have tried that. :oops:

To answer the other question, it is leaking out the spout.

superkaz

Reaction score