Breaker and wire size for pool heat pump - MCA, wire and breaker size.

Users who are viewing this thread

Bluebinky

Reaction score
I suppose that some have self-taught themselves past knowing just what are common terms and what are not when it comes to talking about electrical circuits.
Against my better judgment, I will say one thing ... you really are arrogant.

Last edited:

DonL

Jack of all trades Master of one
Reaction score
Pool Heat Pump arrived today. My pool guy set it in place and plumbed it in. I wired it.

Nameplate called for a Minimum Circuit Amps 36.2, Maximum Breaker size 60 Amps.

Since MCA exceeded 35 Amps (36.2) I wired it with 2 black 10' lengths of #8 THWN to the existing 50 amp breaker, and 1 Green 10' #10 length. Total cost $15.

I ran a #10 bare solid bonding wire to tie into the existing bond of the pumps.

#10 THWN was 10 cents per foot cheaper than #8 so it cost me $2 more.

I already had 3/4" liquid-tight flex and fittings.

Great that you have it going.

You maybe should have went with #8 for the bonding.

Is it on a ground fault interrupt ?

Have Fun.

DonL

Reaction score
JW knows the code and also how to save money too.

Not sure you can save money on the bonding conductor, and still meet code.

I think #8 is required.

Last edited:

JerryR

Reaction score
Great that you have it going.

You maybe should have went with #8 for the bonding.

Is it on a ground fault interrupt ?

Have Fun.
All existing bonds are already #10 so that is what I went with.

There are 3 breakers in the pool sub panel. Pool pump, Jet pump and Heat pump. None are GFCI.

Does code require GFCI?

DonL

Reaction score

There are 3 breakers in the pool sub panel. Pool pump, Jet pump and Heat pump. None are GFCI.

Does code require GFCI?

It is a fail, I think. I thought you did your homework ?

JW has the final answer.

Good Luck.

BobL43

DIY Senior Member
Reaction score

Does code require GFCI?