Kenmore Water Softener white 1" Disk

Users who are viewing this thread

RRyder95

Reaction score
After many attempts by the service techs to repair my water softener. (They never got it to work) I pulled the head off and found a white 1" round plastic disk, about 1/6" thick between the head and tank screen. What is this disk? and where does it go?

Mialynette2003

In the Trades
Reaction score
I've been working on Kenmore softeners for 20+ years and have never seen a white disc in them. Is it possible to post a pic of it?

RRyder95

Reaction score
I've been working on Kenmore softeners for 20+ years and have never seen a white disc in them. Is it possible to post a pic of it?

Sorry This is the best photo I could get. The disk is about the size of a quarter. They replaced the head on this unit so I looked in the box at the old head and laying in the bottom of the box is another one of these disks.

Attachments

• White Disk.JPG
    White Disk.JPG
    98.6 KB · Views: 365

Akpsdvan

In the Trades
Reaction score
I have seen that white disc, it was part of a kit that a customer had from a rebuild of their unit.
I was never really sure where it was to go as I too had and have worked on sears units over the years.
But the part of that one part does make sense, why I do not know but then the engineers do some strange stuff that can under do an edit and the unit still works great.

Mialynette2003

In the Trades
Reaction score
Akpsdvan, that disc goes on the drain plunger and is the drain seal for the 1" valve. The 3/4 valve uses an o ring on the plunger.

RRyder95

Reaction score