Kink in copper service line

Users who are viewing this thread

Rock/Lex

Reaction score
I'm a contractor. A new 3/4" copper line was just run from meter to basement of a house via a boring machine. During the looping of the pipe into a wall, the pipe was kinked, similar to the attached recreation photo.
My question is this: is the lesser evil to live with the kink buried or a soldered joint buried?
Plumber thinks the kink is the lesser. I think the soldered joint is. What say you?
Thanks.
Rock

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    40.8 KB · Views: 2,941

Sluggo

Reaction score
I'm a contractor. A new 3/4" copper line was just run from meter to basement of a house via a boring machine. During the looping of the pipe into a wall, the pipe was kinked, similar to the attached recreation photo.
My question is this: is the lesser evil to live with the kink buried or a soldered joint buried?
Plumber thinks the kink is the lesser. I think the soldered joint is. What say you?
Thanks.
Rock
I'd cut it out and solder on a 3/4" slip coupling; you might need to use two couplings with a short length of copper line connecting them if you have a lot to cut out because of existing damage/distortion. However, I'm not a plumber and I don't know if code would require brazed joints. Is the location of the kink something that would be buried or not?

In any case I can understand why the plumber likes the option of no more work...

Last edited:

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
Unless the joint is under concrete, it can be soldered.
I've never seen a Lead Free joint fail unless it just wasn't done right to begin with.
I've seen 50/50 joints fail.

Rock/Lex

Reaction score
Thanks for your (pl.) responses...appreciate it. The kinked portion of the pipe would be in the dirt under a concrete patched and tiled portion of a basement floor.

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com