How to avoid burnout when soldering?

Users who are viewing this thread

lmei007

Reaction score
I have some soldering experiences on 1/2" and 3/4" pipes with propane. I am confident my skill on them.

Today I just tried 1" with MAPP. The first joint is a 1"x1"x1/2" tee. It turned out a nightmare. It was burnout. I have to redo it.

It seems that when the temperature reach to the point needed by the lead-free solder, the flux is also burnout. I am using #95 tinning flux. All materials are bought from HomeDepot.

Or I applied the solder too late?

How do you avoid the burnout? Is there a way to repair the burnout joints?

Last edited:

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
If the joint is a leaker, then it needs to be removed, cleaned and refluxed.
There's no way around that.

With a large joint, it helps to touch the solder every so often to see how it's doing. It's really the only clue you will ever get.
Even heat on all sides is a help, and don't forget to warm the pipes too.

Plumber69

In the Trades
Reaction score
I have some soldering experiences on 1/2" and 3/4" pipes with propane. I am confident my skill on them.

Today I just tried 1" with MAPP. The first joint is a 1"x1"x1/2" tee. It turned out a nightmare. It was burnout. I have to redo it.

It seems that when the temperature reach to the point needed by the lead-free solder, the flux is also burnout. I am using #95 tinning flux. All materials are bought from HomeDepot.

Or I applied the solder too late?

How do you avoid the burnout? Is there a way to repair the burnout joints?
Sounds like you have to move the torch around more, avoid flaming one spot to long

DonL

Jack of all trades Master of one
Reaction score
Is that burn out or blow out ?

The proper Tip and how to use it works for me.

Real solder and flux helps also.

I use the stuff that may kill you, but only if you live in California.

Living in Texas has it advantages.