Well Pump Life

Users who are viewing this thread

Robc0367

Reaction score
Our well pump was installed by the previous home owner in 2003. I read that the average life of a pump is 10 -15 years. We are not experiencing any problems just trying to gather some info.
Is there anything to look for that signals the pump is on it's way out or does it just stop working one day?

Reach4

Reaction score
I am not a pro, but I have done some reading. There are good pros on the forum.

I think your pump may have been from a time when pumps were a little better... just before the pump wars. Warning on this link... some people's virus checker indicates a virus. I think it is a a false positive, but I cannot be sure. Turn off Java before viewing if you want to be more careful. http://justicewater.com/articles/baad-pumps In fact, here is a link to the Google-cached version: http://webcache.googleusercontent.c...articles/baad-pumps+&cd=1&hl=en&ct=clnk&gl=us That has to be safe, I would think.

Pumps today may be as good as then... I don't know. I figure the first few years after the upheaval probably made for less reliable pumps.

Anyway, there are various factors in how long pumps last. If your pump runs at least a minute each time it runs, and if you don't use a lot of water, they can last longer. This summer I had my pump that was built in 2000 and installed in 2002 pulled out to extend the casing. Many suggest replacing the pump in that case, since it will cost an extra $450 or so to pull a failed pump... and then there is the potential that you cannot get service right away or might need to pay double for emergency rates. I had the pump reinstalled. If it lasts another 5 years, I figure I made a good choice. I am hoping for more