Failure of a large mud shower pan.

Users who are viewing this thread

Paul Lepkowski

Reaction score
Hi guys. I'm a very old retired engineer. 10 years ago I anticipated the day when a wife or I would need a wheelchair by having a tile contractor build a big fancy wheelchair accessible shower, 5 feet wide by 8 1/2 feet long, with a Grohe thermostat, Speakman showerhead, three Grohe body sprays and a hand shower on opposite walls in one narrow end. It’s in a ranch house over a 5 foot crawlspace. To support its weight four round footings were installed below the frost line with adjustable post jacks supporting two 4 x 12 beams oriented transversely under the joists. Five of the 2 x 10 x 19’ joists were then notched down to about 5 inches over the new beams. A center drain mud floor with a flexible membrane and tile facing was that installed in the recess. This produced a level entry door at the end of one of the 8 foot walls. The walls and ceiling of the shower were tile over cement board.

It was beautiful! Until two weeks ago, that is. My wife had her stroke and has balance issues so we were installing a giant sit-down bathtub in the adjacent room. In the process of installing plumbing the plumber noticed heavy mold deposits in the crawlspace below the shower pan. After a lot of poking around we concluded that the membrane buried in the mud floor was leaking through overlapping joints. The plumber ripped out the mud floor and then found that the backer board in the walls was crumbling, so he ripped out the lower courses of tile and the first backer board in the walls. When I found that we can no longer match the wall tile I told him to rip out the rest of the walls. The ceiling is still intact, but I find that it was installed over green board, so I may rip that out too. We think we've killed the mold with successive applications of boric acid, vinegar, and chlorine bleach.