Outside hydrant problem

Users who are viewing this thread

Flattop517

Reaction score
Hey everyone. Brand new to the site to get a question answered. I have two Mansfield 400 series anti-siphon faucets on my 7 year home. Both have the same problem now. They will not turn off. Both knobs spin freely. Can these units be rebuilt or do I need to replace the entire unit? FYI, I have a sulfur well.

Last edited:

Gary Swart

In the Trades
Reaction score
I'm not a pro, so take this for what is worth. I am not familiar with that brand of faucet, but I think they all work somewhat the same. The actual shut off occurs inside the house where the unit attaches to the supply line. The most common problem folks have is caused by leaving the hose attached in the winter which prevents the faucet from draining so the pipe leading to the supply source splits. Then in the spring when the faucet is turned on, there is a flood under the house. Not what you are describing obviously. As to repair, I would first want to know why two faucets failed at the same time. Second, you would almost certainly have to remove them to repair them, then replace them. Yes, you might save a few dollars, but I would make more sense to me to get new units and install them...same labor to remove and replace. If you have never worked on these, you should know that it requires two wrenches to remove and replace them. One wrench to turn and one to apply counter pressure to avoid twisting the supply line.

Flattop517

Reaction score