New well owner help

Users who are viewing this thread

ahren111

Reaction score
Hi, I'm new to wells. We just bought our first house with a well about 1yr ago & my pressure tank is out. The house was a bank owned so I don't have much info about the well a local well co did an inspection & told me it's producing 3gpm. I was planning on going with a well-x-trol 202xl, a new SS tee package and a CSV1. Anyone have any thoughts on my part choices? Any other suggestions to a first time well owner? Here's the parts I was going to order. https://www.aquascience.net/cart/
Thanks for your help.

ahren111

Reaction score
Please correct me if I'm wrong, but with a small 1 gallon tank like with Pside kick kit the pump would come on more often, say every time I flush the toilet. With a bigger say 7 gallon draw draw down pressure tank it would only come on after I use the 7 gallons is that correct? Why would you want such a small tank & the pump coming on after such little use?

Reach4

Reaction score
I agree. A toilet flush would start the pump.

One thing the kit gets you is the CSV1A valve, which is the higher end one.

Craigpump

In the Trades
Reaction score
The local health dept would be a good place to get your well info.

I think I read someplace that Amtrol will not warranty the tank for seven years unless it and the shipping pallet are unloaded with a forklift. You might want to clarify that before you order.....

Why use a 202? If you have the space go with a tank that has some real drawdown like a 251, 255 or best yet, a 350

Valveman

Cary Austin
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
cyclestopvalves.com
Without a CSV you can’t put in a large enough tank to stop the cycling. A 202 only holds 5 gallons of water, a 251 only about 12, and even a 350 only holds 35 gallons. With a house that uses 500 gallons per day or more, that is a lot of cycling just to refill a big tank. And have you seen how much those big tanks cost?