Recent content by Roy Nakamura

1. R

soldering a slip coupling tight spot

Okay...I'm not a plumber but I saw these solderless slip on couplings at Home Depot the other day. I've never used them or heard of them before...but would they work well in this application?
  2. R

Toilet due to be replaced?

Speaking as a Landlord...PLEASE write him a note and hand it to him when you pay your next rent. It can't be a good situation and you don't want the toilet to fail because you're going to be the one with water on the floor. Also...you don't want him accusing you of breaking the toilet with a...
  3. R

Main line leak

Ah....like Mike said above. From the Landlord's perspective since the renters don't pay the water bill they generally don't care if the water is leaking. I had a water bill ...yeah about four times the usual (and here's the kicker...the City of Los Angeles has an excess sewer charge fee if the...
  4. R

Washer

Cookie...glad it worked out! :)
  5. R

Tub spout -- broken pipe

Adman...maybe it's time to get a quote on replacing the mirror :confused: As I said before I'm not a plumber and as a landlord I have done many 'creative' repairs...something I'd never try or do for my own home. First I'd try the heat and attempt to clean out the elbow...and if that...
  6. R

Tub spout -- broken pipe

Adman...you must be one strong guy :p I'm not a plumber...but maybe a plumber will chime in. Is it possible to touch the remains of the copper pipe through the tile hole and heat it in such a way so you can pull out the remaining copper line from the fitting? (then wire brush the fitting...
  7. R

Please Help-Water spots soaking through carpet

I just remodeled one of my rental units last month. I ripped up the plastic tile floor in the kitchen and noticed that the wood floor was a little moist. I ripped up the subfloor and there it was...appearently 15 years ago somebody pierced the copper supply line with a very small nail...
  8. R

Sidework?