Recent content by Milanomike

1. M

Clack WS1 Filling Brine Tank - Can't Figure It Out

Dino1965, Again, I do not profess to be a water softener expert, but I had the exact same issue shortly after installing my WS. One of the plastic sealing rings in the brine draw line was cracked, so it would not seal properly. I found it by doing a regeneration and noted that it was sucking a...
  2. M

I am no expert for sure but learned a lot here about water softeners. Hard to tell but it looks like a Clack valve from the 1st photo. Maybe shot of the front of it showing the buttons. Either way, the cover pops off easily and you can most likely figure it out from there. I found the Hellen...
  3. M

OK, I can set the fill to 0.1 on my Clack WS1EE! I'm at 5.5 right now. Thinking it thru I understand that it will fill at 5.5 x 0.5 gpm or 2.75 gallons which autocorrects to the right amount of brine. Just need to remember all this for next time. I've got plenty of notes and printed this...
  4. M

Bannerman, OK, I'll set the fill to 5.5 or worse case 6. I'll keep an eye on it and let the regeneration correct the brine level. Yes, my water is chlorinated, but I filter before the softener. I have a sediment filter first which feeds a charcoal filter then the softener. So very little...
  5. M

OK, got it, yeah, I seem to recall I can set increments of a minute. So, I'll set it at 5.5 or 6 whichever I can get. I'm thinking of bumping the hardness to 14 as suggested, this will give me ~1725 gallons before regeneration using 24000 grains total capacity setting. The city claims hardness...
  6. M

Bannerman thanks again Apparently, the software/system was updated after my unit, my manual shows last update in 2009 (and is only 16 pages). I did see the later manual online with the option to enter hardness/salt dose. Took me a bit to realize the newer units have this programming...
  7. M