Recent content by Mike Turner

1. Mike Turner

T8 Lighting and GFCI ?

Your T8 fixture should not be powered by the load side of your GFCI. If direct connect your T8 fixture and install a switch you will not have any more problems,a ballast fixture can mess with a GFCI. I went to my local Lowes and found this out too ! And thats what it was... I had the light on...
  2. Mike Turner

T8 Lighting and GFCI ?

Thanks Don and everybody else too. I'm not a electrician but I do a little stuff like this and always want to be safe..Is there any way to tell without unwiring it to tell if load is properly connected ? When I test it instantly turns it off and then I reset it and it works fine...It is so hot...
  3. Mike Turner

T8 Lighting and GFCI ?

I did a google search in it it said the line / load connections are reversed the test/trip wouldnt work properly....Is this correct? I went back out an hr after I changed the bulbs and now everything is working.....Perplexed now!! Thanks everybody !
  4. Mike Turner

T8 Lighting and GFCI ?

Back 4/28/11 I replaced my old fluorescent lights with T8s and they've been working great... One section of my lights feed through an outlet and then to a switch then to the lights. Yesterday I replaced this one outlet with a GFCI .... I use this outlet a lot..The GFCI works good...The...
  5. Mike Turner

GFCI on Freezer Circuit

Well I should have mentioned this..It is in shop where I do use some tools...Thats what my safety concern was about ..Thanks
  6. Mike Turner

GFCI on Freezer Circuit

I have our small freezer in my shop. It is on a circuit without a GFCI . I would like to put a GFCI in the circuit but worry but worry about it tripping and losing the contents of the freezer BUT I know I need one on that line. Anyone ever had this happen ? Would love to bring it in house...
  7. Mike Turner

Small Shop Wiring