Recent content by Mike Swearingen

1. Mike Swearingen

Hey John! How are you? It has definitely been a long time. Don't do as much on DIY Internet...

Hey John! How are you? It has definitely been a long time. Don't do as much on DIY Internet sites as I used to. Great to hear from you!
  2. Mike Swearingen

water lines, exterior walls, winter cold...

I'm not a pro plumber, but I would plumb the supplies to the toilet and shower up between the 2X2" furring strips on the inner wall, and the vanity sink lines up through the floor. You will have to remove some brick for the shower valve. I live in NC and the only time that I've ever had a line...
  3. Mike Swearingen

Shower Faucet Seat

Go to a pro plumbing supply house and look for shower faucets with extra large estucheon plates made for the purpose of going into the wall from the shower side to replace the faucet. The large estucheon plates will cover the larger hole necessary to remove the old and install the new faucet...
  4. Mike Swearingen

Water not running

"Floating" debris moves with water movement back and forth within the pipes and open valves. Turning other faucets on can cause the water to move in the pipes, temporarily removing the clogging debris. You have to dismantle the clogged faucets, lay a towel over them, turn the water pressure...
  5. Mike Swearingen

Crack in pipe from p-trap to wall

That cracked pipe appears to be copper. If it is, you should be able to cut it with a tubing cutter if you have turning clearance (or a hacksaw) and connect it to the trap with either a Fernco (neoprene rubber) coupling or a no-hub coupling (with a ss sleeve), and PVC pipe connected to the...
  6. Mike Swearingen

Septic maintenance