Recent content by Benj

1. Benj

Whole house carbon tank filter recommendations.

Hello all, I'm interested in putting in a carbon tank filter to remove chlorine (and potentially other impurities) from my public water source. I previously had a 1.5 cu ft GAC system with a Fleck backwash valve when I lived on the west coast which worked well. I assume I'll get a system...
  2. Benj

PEX pipe question

I'm not a professional plumber but have put in a bit of PEX in a couple houses and haven't noticed that there are layers in the pipe, as it looks like it's through and through all the same plastic.
  3. Benj

Septic Problem - Effluent filter clogging regularly?

Hello all, We bought out house 2 years ago and also have had the outlet filter of the septic clog multiple times. I have to clean it every 2 months or it clogs. There are two tank with a T on the inlet to the first tank as well as T's on the outlet for the first tank and inlet for the 2nd...
  4. Benj

Buderus G115/3 oil fired boiler - service

Hello there, I'm in the process of buying a house that has in-floor hydronic heating with a Buderus G115 boiler that was installed in 2002. I called the company that serviced in in May of 2017 and they say they only check the oil fuel supply, burner, heats up to specs and vent. There is...
  5. Benj

Stinky front loader Bosch washing machine - what to do?

My wife does laundry pretty much every day. It may stink a little more after a load, as it's pretty strong smell on opening the door to take a load out, but even when we've been away for a week, it's still pretty bad. We have city water that is chlorinated and has below threshold lead, arsnic...
  6. Benj

Yes...we always leave the door open unless it's washing a load. I've done several cycles with a couple cups of bleech and hot water. Doesn't seem to make any improvement.
  7. Benj