Recommendation advice

Users who are viewing this thread

guinaevere

Reaction score
Reading the reviews here, and at CR have been very helpful. But now I need help narrowing down the field.

Drake, Drake II, Ultramax, Ultramax II, Cadet (3? I lost my little notepad), or Cimarron

Of all the better affordable models, which can reliably move the most solids without clogging? I am a caretaker for someone who frequently clogs almost any toilet he uses.

Another big concern came up reading that some of the newer models have mouths which typical plungers will not work for. So in addition to the above request for which model would suit him best, what plunger should we have on hand for when it does inevitably clog?

Any input would be appreciated.

Last edited by a moderator:

Queen50

Reaction score
I'm not an expert, just a consumer, but I'm fond of the American Standard Champion 4. We have 3, two elongated 'comfort height', and one regular round front. Two of them have been in for 4 years with never a clog. The only thing we've replaced is the handle on one of them.

The third one went in last spring in our new basement bathroom.

Last edited:

WJcandee

Wise One
Reaction score
The Toto Drake will flush as well as the Champion 4, and uses industry-standard parts (unlike the Champion) so when something needs to be replaced, you can get the part at the local hardware store. Also, the Toto has excellent build quality, so the chances of getting a defective one are much lower. The Drake II has a little better bowl wash.

No plunger makes a complete seal over the "hole" (it's really a passageway/baffle) at the bottom of the bowl; a plunger with the extra stuff at the end like this one will work fine: http://www.lowes.com/pd_135360-319-...l=1&currentURL=?Ntt=toilet+plunger&facetInfo=