New basement bath drain

Users who are viewing this thread

gzaryz

Reaction score
Hello all, I'm a novice when it comes to plumbing, so I want to ask the "proper" method for routing my drains in an upcoming basement bath install. I'd like to be armed with information before calling plumbers to have this done.

Below is a picture of my intended layout, which is to be a small 2 piece bathroom between a vertical stack and the street. I'm in Michigan, and my town allows AAV's. (my 1st floor bath and kitchen sink are both equipped with AAV's). In the pic, the sink (on the right) would drain into a "common" 2 inch drain shared with a future bar sink down the road (on the other side of the wall).

The red triangles represent 1 foot from the vertical, to an existing cleanout (about 6 feet away). My question is if its possible, what would the drain layout look like, and if I were to add an AAV to the sink drain, would that be sufficient for the toilet (wet vent?). I would like to move the cleanout closer to the street, and would be adding a backwater valve somewhere near where the cleanout is now.

I appreciate the help, and be gentle, I'm learning!
Bath1.jpg

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
When a customer calls me to do an installation like that, all I ask him is WHERE do you want the fixtures, then he goes to the mall for a cup of coffee while I DECIDE how the pipes will work best. I have absolutely NO INTEREST in how HE thinks they should be installed. A "good" plumber will install a backwater valve so it does NOT interfere with using the upstairs plumbing during a backup condition. whether the AAV would work with the toilet, or not, depends entirely on HOW the piping is installed.

Last edited:

gzaryz

Reaction score
Ok then don't be gentle, be hostile I guess.