Max height for ceiling rain shower head?

Users who are viewing this thread

naadimre

Reaction score
hi all,

this is my first time posting. we are renovating our master bathroom and we want to vault the ceiling. the highest height will be over the shower. we are doing the Hansgrohe PuraVida 400 Air (15 inch) rectangular ceiling mount. i was thinking that we should level out the vault at around 10 ft so we don't have an incredibly long pipe for the shower head. my husband would like the ceiling to go higher (the max height we could go is 14ft).

my questions are:
-for a rain head shower of this size, what is a good height? i've heard 10-12 in above the tallest person (hubby is 6ft). But is 8 ft OK?

-if we decide to use a long pipe to make the shower head at ~8ft, will there be any issue with water hammer (something my contractor brought up), or other issues i'm not aware of?

-is this something routinely done (having a very long pipe)?

-what do plumbers normally do with a higher than normal ceiling height and a ceiling mount rain head? what is the longest pipe length you would recommend?

thanks!
reva

Reach4

Reaction score
Adding height to a shower head will not contribute to water hammer. A shower head does not normally have a quick-acting valve, and yours will not have one at all. Any water hammer would be due to water flowing in the pipe before the shutoff valve, and then only if the valve was somehow fast-acting.

I am sure there are other reasons to prefer a particular height.

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score