Resin Recommendation

Users who are viewing this thread

bricc

Reaction score
I have a Fleck 5600SXT with a 10x44 tank. It was prefilled with Indion 225 Naf resin. After installing the unit in our new house we found that our water had a funny taste and it caused us to have upset stomach issues. I called the retailer and they sent replacement resin, saying something about a bad batch. The replacement resin is the same type as was originally installed, so I'm skeptical that it will solve our problem.

I'm not an expert, but I do have some experience with water softeners having installed several of them and lived with them for most of my life. My dad and grandfather are builders and I've remodeled and built about 10 houses myself and softeners have been a part of almost every one.

So, my question is should I try to use this replacement Indion resin or toss it out and buy some other brand? I've read that Purolite C100E is good, but there are very few reviews or recommendations for any brand. Any adivce would be greatly appreciated.

Brian

bricc

Reaction score
Thanks! Sounds like I should just go ahead and rebuild it with the replacement Indion resin.

I just wanted to be sure because the softener is in a very tight spot and it's not an easy proposition to take it apart again. I'd rather spend the money now and do it once if required.

ditttohead

Water systems designer, R&D
Reaction score
Indion is one of the larger manufacturers of many types of ion exchange resin. It has become a fairly well trusted name in the industry. http://www.ionresins.com/products.html

Bad batches of resin do happen, rarely, but all of the major manufacturers have had this same kind of issues at some point.

I have been testing resins by Indion for a while, though we don't sell their product, most of their resins have passed our in-house and field testing. You should be fine with a fresh bag of resin. Let us know how it works out.

bricc

Reaction score