Trimming Copper Pipe, Replacing Shut Off Valve

Users who are viewing this thread

DC Newbie

Reaction score
I'm in the process of replacing a bathroom vanity, and in order to get it flush against the wall I need to trim back one of the water supply pipes which sticks out too far (pic attached). Plan to replace the shut off valve in the process. As my handle indicates, I'm a newbie at this stuff, but it seems like this is a relatively easy fix. Can I just trim the pipe by a half inch or so using a pipe cutter of some sort? And do I need to do anything to the pipe in order to seat the new valve properly (remove burrs, clean threads)? If soldering is the way to go, then I'll need to bring a plumber in.

thanks for your assistance.

Attachments

• IMAG0402.jpg
    IMAG0402.jpg
    33.9 KB · Views: 872

Speede541

Reaction score
Something that works great for me is a oscillating tool fitted with a Dremel 482 blade. My particular tool is a cheapie pneumatic Harbor Freight unit, but there are a bunch of electric models available from reputable brands.

This is a great setup for getting at even 2" copper installed in tight confines where a compression-type pipe cutter simply won't fit, and it doesn't rip the edges to shreds like a recip saw.

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
YOu can use anything you want to cut off the tubing, a cutter, small hacksaw, big hacksaw, SawZall, etc. But I would stay away from a reciprocating tool, because they might be difficult to hole in place without damaging the copper before it is cut off.

DC Newbie

Reaction score
Thanks for the suggestion on the cutting tool. I should clarify that the vanity is not set yet, so I can pull it away from the pipes in the picture, leaving me with space to operate.

Edited to add: do I even need to take the old compression valve off, or could I just cut the pipe behind it?

Last edited:

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com