Editing of posts

Users who are viewing this thread

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
I got a private message from a forum member suggesting that I was "unfairly" editing my own post, and editing the quote of it on his post.
He felt I should have left my mistake there.
Even though in hindsight, it should have been removed.
Here was my response.

I allow everybody to edit their own posts, and “anytime” someone asks me to go back and remove or edit, whether the post is fourteen years old or ten seconds old I do it for them. There are plenty of mistakes and things written in haste.
Why have junk. That’s what editing is for.

Since I am a plumber, and many of the “experts” are plumbers, I remove information about buying online, which does not support the people answering the questions. If you need a site to recommend the cheapest prices, then this isn’t for you.

I’m in favor of supporting local business, and paying local sales taxes.
I support the plumbers and electricians that are trying to survive in this economy. They provide advice and service, and deserve a living wage and should be compensated for their education.

I’m in plenty of trouble right now with the trades, because they think , I’m “giving away the store”. I have many complaints from plumbers saying I’m giving away trade secrets, and they are right. I just want to see the work done right, whether it’s by a plumber or by a homeowner.

I've spent hours every day helping people that I don’t know, and with no compensation. I answer phone calls from around the country, and so does my son. We will walk people through their problems and give advice, for free.

Best regards,
Terry Love