Transfer switch for 12v emergency lighting?

Users who are viewing this thread

Bassist58

Reaction score
My project is merely in the thought processes right now. I want to make an emergency lighting system in case my power goes out. I'm thinking of using a 12v deep-cycle marine battery charged by a solar panel (or small wind generator) to light a string of LED's inside my house.

Is there something that can turn them on automatically when the power goes out? All of the threads I've searched seem to deal with transfer switches used with generators that are somehow tied to the grid. (And nightmare stories of death by electrocution.) I just want something that I can plug into a 110 outlet that detects when the power goes out and turns on my lights. Sounds simple to me, but that is never usually the case. Short of changing the batteries in a flashlight, I have no experience with electrical stuff, but I want to learn.

Thanks so much in advance!

Bassist58

Reaction score
jwelectric

Thank you so much for the quick response!
Looks like a great product, except for the wiring into a box thing. Actually, the L-1-Plug http://www.lightworld.com/products/L-1-Plug.html (link on the page you gave me) is more my speed. Much less work and cheaper than my original idea. I had no idea that these existed.
Thanks so much for the info!

Brian

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
That is okay if you want a "single" light, but to operate a string of lights you need a "normally closed" relay which is kept "open" by your house's electrical system and "closes" when the power fails, thus turning on your lighting. This is NOT a "plug in" item, other than for the power to control the relay.

Bassist58

Reaction score
Thanks muchly, hj.