Pressure reducer installation location ?

Users who are viewing this thread

oldjessee

Reaction score
Newbie here, so pardon my vocabulary...

I would like to add a PRV to my home plumbing set up, but am unsure where. I am running off spring water for most of the year with a secondary well pump with corresponding expansion tank, etc... The spring water ties into my water line between the pump and expansion tank. (I know!! I know!!!) The spring water also provides water for livestock (a separate pump, holding tanks, etc..) When livestock are grazing parts of the farm, we pump to a higher elevation reservoir which in turn increases the pressure at the house way too high. My reason for wanting a PRV.

Questions: Is a PRV what I want? Where is the best place to put one?

I am thinking in the spring line before it ties into my well line, but would love to hear other ideas as it means digging down two feet in the dirt/mud and maintenance would be a major inconvenience. Could I put it in after the expansion tank and add another expansion tank for the water heater, if I needed one? Thoughts welcome!

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
I normally install a PRV (pressure reducing valve) where I can access it later for repair or replacement.
I don't like them buried and forgotten. I run into a few homes that were very puzzling as to why they no longer had decent pressure.

Ballvalve

General Engineering Contractor
Reaction score
With incoming high pressure, seems it should be just before the "well" expansion tank-storage tank.

What exactly is the 'high' pressure you are getting?

Lower pressure in the diaphragm tank gives more storage of water.

Last edited:

oldjessee

Reaction score
Thanks for the replies...Been busy all week with contractors..