What size boiler?

Users who are viewing this thread

fredfons

Reaction score
I bought a 2300 square foot bi-level in Philly suburbs built in 1964 for investment/rehab and am converting from oil heat to gas. I am a carpenter and figured I could handle doing a heat loss calculation to size a new gas boiler using the calculator at www.crownboiler.com/Support/Education/Boiler-sizing. It calculated 56,000 BTU heat loss but the existing oil boiler a New Yorker APU 690U bt4 has a DOE heating capacity 129 MBH. Does my BTU calculation sound too low for this house or is the existing boiler oversized? Was it oversized due to DHW? Or am I misreading the rating numbers? The house is 4 bedroom 2 1/2 bath, 25' x 47', lower level uninsulated brick veneered conc. block and upper level is frame with 2" batts in walls and 5 1/2" loose fill in attic. All new double glazed mid quality windows and doors. ODT= 13. I am looking at Crown mod con BWC070 rated 70,000 BTU. Any thoughts on if this might do the job?

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
Most older boilers were grossly oversized. Many calculators are as much as 100% over the 'real' need. A better solution for this house would be to compare the actual oil used verses the heating degree-day for your location. No idea if that brand and model is good or not...

If a lot of the insulation/window upgrades were made after the last heating season, your new calcs may no longer be accurate.

Generally, there's no need to oversize a boiler to provide DHW unless it is a commercial situation where there's significant hot water useage all day long. It's generally run on a priority zone, and uses all of the boiler's output while heating the DHW, then reverts back to space heating when that's done. The homeowner will rarely notice that short gap.

Gary in NJ

Reaction score