Iron filter selection

Users who are viewing this thread

oldsch

Reaction score
Hi
I'm just starting to learn about water treatment and trying to put together a system.
Here's what I know so far...

Had 2 basic tests done about a week apart:

Iron 4 mgl
Hardness 12 gr
pH 7.0
TDS 340

Iron 1.5 mgl
Hardness 15 gr
pH 7.0
TDS 231

New well, 10+ gpm flow.
3 people, 1 bathroom.

If I fill a glass, the water has a slight red/brown color at first then clears with red layer at the bottom
of the glass. Mild to moderate sulfur odor on both hot and cold.

One company is recommending an "IRON BREAKER" filter. I'm a bit skeptical. I can't find much info on this filter and it doesn't make a lot of sense to me. I guess the idea is to oxidize the iron by letting the water fall through an air pocket before the filter media. It doesn't seem like there would be enough contact with air to really do anything but that's just a guess on my part.

The other filter I was considering is PYROLOX. But some sites say that you need 10, 20, 30... a million! gpm to backwash these. But that seems to be the only downside??? If thats true why not just get 2 small PYROLOX filters and backwash them at different times? It would still be cheaper than the Iron Breaker?

Or could I just use a softener to handle the iron?
Thanks

Mialynette2003

In the Trades
Reaction score
First of all, there is a big difference between the 2 tests as far as iron. A softener will handle the iron but my concern is with the sulfur. If the smell is due to the iron, than it will go away once the iron is gone. If not, you will have to treat for the sulfur. What I would recommend is to install a softener to see if it will take care of the smell as well as the iron and the hardness first. Then if you still have the smell, get a chlorination system for the sulfur.

LLigetfa

DIYer, not in the trades
Reaction score
If I fill a glass, the water has a slight red/brown color at first