Firewall Outlet Box Placement(s)

Users who are viewing this thread

KULTULZ

Jack of all trades, Master of none
Reaction score
I am doing a condo kitchen remodel and replacing an existing firewall (5/8" fire rated drywall on wooden studs). Code says that the outlet boxes must have no more than a 1/8" air gap between the box and drywall cutout and this air gap is to be fire caulked.

Now, does the box have to extend into the cutout or can a metal expansion ring suffice (the box installed at the rear of the drywall as to enable a more concise cut-out), the problem being cutting such an exact opening and hoping to have it hit the installed box?

KULTULZ

Reaction score
THANX!

So the box should be set to the outer surface of the drywall and an extension ring used if wall finishing material(s) is used.

Makes perfect sense...

KULTULZ

Reaction score
Where are you getting this information?

I have never heard of any such rule

First, I am not a licensed professional and gain what little knowledge I have from boards such as this and technical publications. Any guidance I receive is greatly appreciated.

I understand that any opening in a firewall structure must be protected from fire blow-though, pipes, cables and outlet boxes. I have also read through many manufacturers materials that a box penetration be tight and caulked (either with caulk or a pad) to prevent any blow-through which makes sense to me.

From- http://database.ul.com/cgi-bin/XYV/...n=versionless&parent_id=1073984818&sequence=1

6. Metallic Electrical Outlet Boxes