Ideal dock wiring Questions?

Users who are viewing this thread

Randyj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Posting for a friend because I want to know other's opinions and tho' I'm a very good and very experienced maintenance/handy man I'm still not an electrician.

I live on a lake and most of the floating docks here are wired for electric lights, air pumps for floating boat lifts, and usually a provision for battery chargers. Also, many docks will have well pumps to use the lake water for washing down boats. Generally a boat dock will have 2 to 6 outlets and a couple of 8 ft florescent light fixtures and maybe some kind of light out over the water. The distance to the main switch box in a lake house is typically 200 ft from the dock.

Generally the docks are wired with 12/2 WG in conduit. Also, if the ground comes from the switch box rather than a ground rod at the walkway to the dock you can get a 6 to 8 volt "tickle" when you climb upon a metal boat dock... So, I've installed several ground rods at the walk way and cut the safety ground from the switch box to stop this "tickle" voltage which is a result of voltage drop from the long distance of wiring to the dock. A typical walkway to the dock is 65 ft.

Here's some questions... what size/type of wire would you run to the dock?

Would you use a GFCI breaker, GFCI outlets, or both?

JWelectric

Electrical Contractor/Instructor
Reaction score
First you can drive all the ground rods you want to but it will do nothing to remove the “trickle shock” hazard between the shore and the water. There is not a motel somewhere underground that electrons retreat to nor is there some kind of electron party that take place underground. Every one of those little electrons are doing their best to return to their source and the improper installation is forcing them to seek a path back through earth.