Shady electrical work?

Users who are viewing this thread

Nukeman

Nuclear Engineer
Reaction score
The main thing that I see is that you cannot hide junction boxes behind drywall. The box in the ceiling and the ones on the wall would need a blank cover outside of the drywall so that the cover could be removed to inspect/test these splices in the future.

Where wires or pipes run though the top/bottom plate of the framing, the rest of the hole should be sealed with a fireblocking foam/caulk (normally orange in color).

The cables should be secured within 8"-12" of the boxes (limit depends on if the box has an internal clamp or not).

I also see that it looks like he mixed 12/2 and 14/2. I understand that you are not supposed to do this (especially if on a 20A breaker), but I am not a pro.

Did he pull a permit? Will this be inspected?

I'm sure the pros will stop in and iron out what additional issues there may be.

1320ms

Reaction score
there is no 12/2 14/2 mixing going on, the 12/2 splice is all 12/2 wire.

Not sure whats going on with the junctions, or if he plans on leaving it that way.. what is the correct way of doing that? He will be back tomorrow, want to make sure its all done right

Nukeman

Nuclear Engineer
Reaction score
So the white Romex is 12/2?

For the junctions, you would put them in a box, cut a hole in the drywall, install a cover plate. That wouldn't look pretty, but would meet code. Another option would be to put the box behind the drywall and install an access panel (also not pretty). Best option is to wire it so that there are no splices like that. Keep splices inside outlet/switch boxes so you don't have this problem.