Goulds Jet Pump Switch Problem - Please Help!

Users who are viewing this thread

rchaney99

Reaction score
Hi,

I am new to plumbing and well equipment, so I am going to try to explain this as best as I can. We just bought this house, so I am learning all its equipment.

We have a well that pumps water into a 2500 gallon storage tank. We have a 40 gallon pressure tank. We also have a Goulds "Jet Pump". 2 days ago and last night we lost water pressure to the house. It happened both times while my wife was running a hot bath and I was running hot water in the kitchen. I couldnt figure out the problem so I went to the well house. There is a small grey plastic box with 1 nut on it next to the Jet Pump. It has connectors and electrical wiring in it... When I pulled up on one set of those roundish connecters, it made contact with the other set and the jet pump kicked back on and all was fine. This has happened 2 times now though in under a week.

Any idea what the problem could be? Is that switch box bad? Or something else? The pressure tank was just replaced.

Thanks for any and all help.

rchaney99

Reaction score
Update: Tonight my wife ran a bath and it did it again... I did not run any other water though. So it when she runs a bath that it trips the switch on the Jet Pump.

Speedbump

Reaction score
Is there a lever hanging out under the cover on one side that you are moving to get the pump going again?

bob...

rchaney99

Reaction score
Is there a lever hanging out under the cover on one side that you are moving to get the pump going again?

bob...

It did look like there was a metal lever... but i coulnt get it to move. So i assumed it was a gaurd to protect the switch or something. To get it started I just push the connectors together so they make contact.

Speedbump

Reaction score
And you held the points together until the pump picked up a fews pounds of pressure and were able the then let them go and it got up to 50 lbs and shut off.