Do It Yourself Book

Users who are viewing this thread

JWelectric

Electrical Contractor/Instructor
Reaction score
From time to time I get some information via email just because of what I do for a living.

Any of you who might have bought a How To book lately should check out this link

click here

Jar546

In the Trades
Reaction score
Website
www.inspectpa.com
Just found this through another source this morning. This is what jw is pointing to:

This is one more fine example of why electrical safety is so important and you really need to understand what you are doing.

Faulty Instructions Prompt Recall of Electrical Wiring How-to-Books by The Taunton Press; Shock Hazard to Consumers
WASHINGTON, D.C. - The U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission, in cooperation with the firm named below, today announced a voluntary recall of the following consumer product. Consumers should stop using recalled products immediately unless otherwise instructed.

Jar546

In the Trades
Reaction score
Website
www.inspectpa.com
Cookie,

You are running off on a tangent with this one. This is a very good example of how dangerous DIY with electrical can be and please re-read my statement.

This is one more fine example of why electrical safety is so important and you really need to understand what you are doing.

I never said DIY should not be done. No matter who you are, you need to know what you are doing, especially with electrical work. Comparing electrical to teaching school is a very poor example. One minor error in electrical work can cause a death. I am rather taken back that you choose to minimalize the importance of this.

Rather than act as an attorney for the DIY folks, how about taking this lesson at face value by understanding and appreciating this important information that is being shared.

Too many people are trying to make a buck by selling DIY books and money hungry publishers are quick to put them in the big box stores with very little oversight.