Frost burst hose bib internally I think?

Users who are viewing this thread

DuneSlider

Reaction score
I needed to fill a bucket up and hooked my hose up to my outdoor hose bib. I turned the water on and there seemed to be a lack of pressure, I then noticed water pouring out of the joint between my stucco and foundation. I then went inside to find a lot of water coming out from behind the drywall in the basement.

We had an early snow storm and I think my hose may have been hooked up still at that point. I am guessing I have a burst in "freeze free" hose bib. There is duct, and drywall, hiding the plumbing from the basement side. My plumbing is pex. Is this something I can repair without tearing out the drywall and duct work?

I am almost done taping so if I need to start tearing out duct work and drywall I would prefer to do it now not later. I am a tile contractor and pretty capable but no plumber. Should I tackle this myself or call a pro plumber?

Thanks for the help,
Bryan

Cass

Plumber
Reaction score
The whole hose bib needs to be replaced from the inside and outside. If it is plumbed in PEX you may need a fitting or 2, a ring splitter, some PEX, a PEX crimper, and a new hose bib...weather or not you can do it I don't know but you will have to access it from the inside at some point behind the drywall... You may want to call someone who has all the tools and you can take care of all the inside drywall/duct work...good luck..

legend_hosebib.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

DuneSlider

Reaction score
That's what I was afraid of! I figured it was going to need to be accessed from inside.

This is going to require a lot of duct removal to gain access. Glad I caught this now and not in the spring when the basement would have been done.

Thanks for the help, time to do some demo.

Redwood

Master Plumber
Reaction score