Is This Up To Code?

Users who are viewing this thread

PM5K

Reaction score
I happened to be looking at a neighbors attic space while he was doing some work on his bathroom and I got a look at his electrical wiring.

It seems the romex (I think that's what the smart guys call it) runs from the breaker box up to the attic space and then the wires just sit on top of the insulation, then running down the inside of the walls to each outlet/switch/etc respectively.

I'm no expert, but what I have learned when doing electrical work is that code is very strict, so I'd be surprised (but not shocked) if wiring can be run in this manner.

Here is a picture incase my explanation wasn't clear:

1004953bh7.jpg

Alectrician

DIY Senior Member
Reaction score
That's how it's done.

The cable is fine. All junctions/splices must be in covered, accessible j boxes like the ones in the wall behind your switches and receptacles.

Brownizs

In the Trades
Reaction score
They should be laying stapled along the joists, but in situations like this, as long as you watch where you step or place stuff, it does not matter. Personally, I would hate to see what a mouse or rat could do to the Romex. This is one of many reasons ACFI's where introduced.

Jimbo

Plumber
Reaction score
I can't quote the code to you.

In "better" jobs, I see all cable which runs above the joist to be on a stringer, possibly to protect it if someone decides to put down some subflooring in the attic for storage.

Alectrician

DIY Senior Member
Reaction score
They should be laying stapled along the joists,

No...sorry. That's just dumb. The cable needs to be supported and it is, by the joists (or the insulation in this case :)). Staples do absolutely nothing positive in this case.

This "attic" is more of a crawl space. It looks to be about 20" high at the peak. No one is storing anything up there. If there is a ceiling access hole somewhere the wiring does have to be protected within....a couple feet???

JWelectric