Help with an electrical debate...

Users who are viewing this thread

Charly

Reaction score
First let me say I am NOT a licensed electrician... With that said, I'm doing a remodel for a friend and told her to hire a licensed electrician for putting in new switches/recpts. and replacing an utility light. When I returned after the electrician did his work, I was livid and flabbergasted at what he did and the receptacle didn't even work!

Now the friend thinks I'm overreacting and the work was done fine. So I need a bit of help here: (NOTE: this is in a mobile home)

1. In a bathroom which has a 2 x 3 wall, he cut out to put an all in one box in which of course wouldn't fit. So he chucked that idea and spread out 2 switches and 1 receptacle in the now larger hole. Thus leaving 1/8" to 1/4" open gap between the plates. These are located above the side of the sink. I say hazard and they need to be done right. Am I overreacting?

2. When putting up the utility light, he used an old extension cord, wired the light to that and plugged it into a receptacle on the pole. Not sure if that is for outside use or not. Now I cannot see under the electrical tape to know if he used wire nuts or not, but he electrical taped down over the connection and part of the cord. He didn't use any pipe at all and told her that the way it was wired was good per 1980's code here, but he would just electrical tape the other wires and it'd be fine. I've never seen so much electrical tape used on a utility pole before! I say hazard and should be redone. Am I overreacting?

Thanks!

Billy_Bob

In the Trades
Reaction score
What was he doing exactly in the bathroom? What was there previously?

I am picturing a switch with its own "single gang" cover plate, then another switch with another single gang cover plate, etc??? Do you have photos you can post?

Then what was he doing with the "utility light"? Was he installing a light up high on a utility pole outside? Pictures?