Soldering copper to shower fixture

Users who are viewing this thread

Catherina

Reaction score
Hi all,

I am new to home repair in general (but now have several hours' experience with plumbing)!

I am installing a new tub and shower, and have been working on the copper piping to install the fixtures. I have successfully sweated the copper piping together, but I'm having trouble with the main fixture. I don't have room for adapters, so I wanted to sweat the copper pipe right to the fixture. So far, I haven't been able to get the metal hot enough to melt the solder. I have not continued to apply heat past 90-120 seconds, though, because I don't want to damage the fixture itself. That amount of time didn't even come close to getting the metal hot enough; whereas while sweating copper together I only had to heat for 10 - 15 seconds or so.

I applied the flame to the part of the fixture that I wanted the solder to flow to; is this where I'm going wrong? Should I heat the pipe instead? Any other advice?

Thanks for your help!

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
A propane torch is not as hot as those used by the pros. A MAPP gas tank could probably be used with your torch head which does burn hotter. If you remove the cartridge, you can keep the torch on longer. You need to heat the fixture, not the pipe.

Jimbo

Plumber
Reaction score
First , I hope you dissasemble the internals before heating. You did the right thing by not continuing to apply the heat. That usually leads to burnt flux and a bad job.

The tip of the inner very bright blue flame is the hottest part.

I might suggest that you get a MAPP torch instead of propane.

Southern Man

DIY Hillbilly
Reaction score
I would suggest that you use a threaded adapter and sweat it to the copper pipe. It's not that big, and you don't risk damaging the fixture.

Catherina

Reaction score