Supply Line --> Shutoff Valve Leak

Users who are viewing this thread

Jack Unhandy

Reaction score
I am a novice handy man, but like to take on projects that seem manageable rather than paying a premium for professional services. So having said that I will try to be as accurate as possible with terminology given my limited knowledge.

I recently decided to install a new kitchen sink and faucet. I have gone from a dual basin sink with a dual handle faucet to a single basin sink with a single faucet w/ sprayer (American Standard Elite model). Everything was going according to plan right up until I connected the water supply lines from the faucet to the copper supply lines.

I used the compression fittings that were already in place to connect the supply lines to the copper lines, which resulted in a slow drip coming from the bottom hex nut on the compression joint on the cold water line and extremely slow leak on the hot water line. Through research I have learned it is best to replace these compression joints when replacing supply lines, but at the time all the hardware stores were closed and I didn’t have extra compression fittings or a compression sleeve removal tool. Since my attempts at tightening the compression joints didn’t work I decided to add Teflon tape to the male threads on both sides of the compression fitting and that appears to have stopped the leaking at the compression joints. However now I have a slow leak coming from the hot water shut off valve (only when the valve is open).

Unfortunately my shut off valves are soldered into place and I really wanted to avoid messing with the copper lines, as I have no experience soldering and it is a very tight space to solder in.

Below is a picture of the leaking shut off valve and the segment I fear needs to be replaced. I am not sure really what the best approach is that would result in secure lines but also limit the welding I would need to do.