Hairline crack in Bathroom Ceiling....HELP

Users who are viewing this thread

Chris in Calgary

Reaction score
I have been renovating my house for the last 2 years and am finally reaching completion.
However, I was going to paint the ceiling in my master bath but I have noticed a slight hairline crack forming in the stipple. It runs parallel with the joists, is about 1/16" in width, and is about 20" long.
Above the master bath is an empty attic, save the insulation.

What should I do? Paint it and allow the paint to fill the void or do I need to be more proactive?

Thanks.

Gary Swart

In the Trades
Reaction score
Paint will not fill the void. Once it dries, the crack will return. One method of fixing cracks I have used with success is to use a piece of panty hose and mud over that. Fiberglass tape would also work. Paper tape would likely split along the crack. Feather the mud on both sides of the crack.

Statjunk

DIY Senior Member
Reaction score
Did you drywall that room? If so do you know if there is a seam there?

If you know there is a seam there I'd try to catch the joist with some long screws. Use a stud finder. Then patch.

If not I would grind the crack larger, then re-mud it and paint it. If it comes back then try something more advanced like suggested above.

Tom

Gary Swart

In the Trades
Reaction score
It doesn't matter if there is a seam there or not. Probably is, that's why it cracked, but the stocking or fiberglass tape will bridge the crack it it won't reappear. You can't prevent cracks in drywall seams without tape of some kind. You can fill it, sand, and paint, but it will come back.

Krow

Plumber
Reaction score
I thought that I would chime in on this thread to share my tussle with a crack in my ceiling.