Kohler K3434 Rosario toilet repairs

Users who are viewing this thread

Mad Plumber

Mad Skills
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
I have two Kohler K3434 Rosario toliets that I had to repair for a friend. We purchased two new flush valve assemblies (included the gasket and the flapper assembly) from Kohler and replaced them per the instructions. After flushing and having the tank refill, there is a leak past I think the flapper assembly. If I put some pressure on the flapper, the leak stops. I read an old (1999) E-mail sent to you with this same problem/same model but could not find your response. Was there a solution for this problem. I called Kohler and they told me to reseat the flush valve, which I did with no improvement.
Any suggestions?

Bob

Last edited:

Krow

Plumber
Reaction score
I was once told that smearing some vasalene on the flapper will help it seal in place. I have never tried that before. Its worth a shot. ..

The next step would be replacement of the flapper

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
Petroleum products and rubber often don't mix well. If a flapper was not stored well, it could be warped, and not ever work right. Some flappers have both a ring that fits over the overflow tube and holes that fit over nubs on the side of the overflow. If it fits over the overflow, and has the nubs, it's best to only use one or the other, not both.

Grazzy

Reaction score
I was once told that smearing some vasalene on the flapper will help it seal in place. I have never tried that before. Its worth a shot. ..

The next step would be replacement of the flapper

If you MUST use a substance like vaseline, make it K-Y JELLY which is not petroleum based.

Redwood

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Umm KY is water soluable... It will just disappear.

Actually I'd agree at this point... Slather it up with vaselene and see if it seals!

If it does you need to find a flapper that will work without the grease!