What are these pipes?!

Users who are viewing this thread

photojeff3200

Reaction score
Hi everyone! I'm a construction worker by trade and have dabbled in electric and plumbing during my tenure, but these pipes have me stumped! Seeing as how winter is almost on us in Montana, I'm ready to convert my unfinished basement into a two bedroom one bath paradise but these darn pipes have put a halt on the whole project. I've tried to get a plumber out to the house but they're all a month out on bids. Hopefully I can get some much appreciated advice here. I just need to know what the pipes are for so I can figure out how to frame in the walls. From the pictures, one can see a cardboard box cemented into the basement foundation (there is gravel in it), than a 1 1/2 inch pipe a 4 inch (toilet?) and a 2 inch. In the other picture a 2" pipe is way hell and gone away from the rest. I'm assuming the lonely one is the shower drain but I'm not positive. I read in another thread that these pipes could already be vented under the slab? I need help! Thanks in advance. Jeff

this1.JPG
this 2.JPG

Last edited by a moderator:

Frenchie

Jack of all trades
Reaction score
Just going by the sizes: 1-1/2 is for sinks, 2" is for showers, (the other one might be the vent), 4" is for toilets. The cardboard box, if you take the gravel out, might be for a cleanout? Or it'll have some 1-1/2 coming out the side, for a bathtub.

CHH

Reaction score
How 'bout the other 2" is for laundry room?

The bathroom group
Tub is the box with gravel, 1.5" is the vent for that and the 2" is the vent for tub and the drain for the lav, wet venting the toilet. That extends as a 2" through the roof.

The lone 2", That's a tougher one.
Terry Love

Last edited by a moderator:

Winslow

Plumber
Reaction score
The 4 inch pipe is the toilet drain
The box with the gravel in it is the shower drain
the 11/2 pipe is the shower vent