Slant fin as underfloor radiant heat?

Users who are viewing this thread

rbrtferry

Reaction score
I am currently in the process of reconfiguring my 3/4 inch baseboard heat pipes ...to match the requirements of zone 1(bedrooms) and zone 2 (kitchen & cathedral ceiling LR). In one of the busy circuits, I was thinking of installing a length of slant fin heater directly under the center of the bathroom for radiant heat. I figured on putting in some sheetmetal first (to spread the heat) then sweat in the slant fin with the fins touching the sheet metal, then covering it with insulation, maybe a piece of foam board type, creating a pocket in the bay.

Anyone ever do this? I didnt want to get into a pex project at this time. I am a novice plumber but competent.

CHH

Reaction score
I'd say that running 180 degree water as underfloor radiant heat would probably be a bad idea. Most (all?) radiant systems use lower temperature water. Barefoot on a surface that exceeded 120 degrees would "cause the subject to display signs of discomfort" or some such understatement for a rather dry laboratory description of pain.

You might get away with it if the 'heat spreader' had a pretty good air gap under the subfloor. There would be no need to use a slant fin radiator since the sheetmetal would prevent convection through the radiator.

BiffNH

Reaction score
I did this but did not use the sheetmetal. Instead I just put sections of the lenghts of the radiator fins under the floor between the floor joists in a serpentine fashion in the middle of the bathroom floor. I then placed my cement board and ceramic tile down. It works very well!! It is now 4 years since I built the bathroom and it was well worth the small expense and time. I fit foil-faced polyisocyanurate 2" insulation panels in between the joists under the radiator sections.

BiffNH

Reaction score